PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

And another book

It’s that time of year I fear. 

Impossible Creatures: Katherine Rundell

When Waterstones chose this as their Book of the Year and I read about it in The Guardian, I realised that it would be just right for Ella’s birthday in a couple of weeks. I bought a copy from Waterstones in Carlisle and was delighted with the cover and the fore edge printing (hence the rather strange photo!) and realised that this was a special edition for bookshops. I soon decided that I needed a copy of my own. 

Katherine Rundell is a wonderful writer. She wrote the very popular and delightful Golden Mole and Other Living Treasures, which I probably blipped last year. 

Impossible Creatures is a lovely children’s book, but could be enjoyed by anyone. I started reading it just to see what it was like but ended up reading the whole book. It is a good fantasy adventure story, very well told. Set in the Archipelago, a secret, unmapped cluster of islands where all the creatures of myth still live side by side with humans, there is an underlying theme of caring for creatures of all kinds, something humans are not very good at. There are pictures of the creatures and a map . . . I do like a story with a map! Probably suitable for 10 - 12 year olds, I’m hoping Ella will like it. I loved it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.