Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

I rarely get too awestruck by the antics of the heron, which I guess is only natural after this length of time. However as I approached the park today I spotted two heron flying down from the tenement roof. They just looked amazing in the early morning light. they Then proceeded to circle above me almost herding me into the park. There were 6 at the entrance waiting, the little female (pictured), the young male, the nervy male, the chick and two other juveniles (I did not recognize them). They sorted themselves out and I started feeding them. When I had finished I made my way to the clearing, the young male and the chick flew over to the edge of the water and waited. The nervy male walked at one side of me with the little female on the other side and the two unknowns tagging along behind. Must have looked strange! It certainly stopped two joggers in thier tracks! I got to the clearing and fed the adult male along with the little female and the nervy male. The other two were too far off.
The crows were following as well and got their biscuits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.