Groggster

By Groggster

An I Short Of A Phoenix

Today's shot is all about observation. I'd spotted this mislaid child's bracelet out the corner of my eye, suspended from a colourfully leafed shrub, on our early morning run and made a mental note to go back and capture it later - very much how my blipper's mind now works!
When I went back to capture it this afternoon I could have sworn it perpendicularly spelled out the word Phoenix but unfortunately I was mistaken - there is a second inconvenient 'H' where the 'I' should be. So near but yet so far!
The phoenix is an immortal bird that cyclically regenerates or is otherwise reborn. It has counterparts in many cultures such as Egyptian and Persian.
Associated with the sun, a phoenix obtains new life rising from the ashes of its predecessor. Some legends say it dies in a show of flames and combustion, others that it simply dies and decomposes before being born again.
I couldn't quite recreate either but surely an almost correctly spelt phoenix bracelet emerging from a colourfully leafed shrub is pretty close! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.