All about Lallybroch

By Lallybroch

Layers

I popped down to shops today for a quick wander round, just to get out the house for a wee bit really. When I was coming back out The Elements, the earth at the back of the Police Station caught my eye as all the different layers of soil on view from when they were digging the new part of the centre there, were really standing out. It also made me think of this scene from Shrek!

Shrek: Ogres...are...like onions.
Donkey: [sniffs onion] They stink?
Shrek: Yes...No!
Donkey: Oh, they make you cry.
Shrek: No!
Donkey: Oh, you leave them out in the sun and they turn brown and start sproutin' little white hands.
Shrek: NO! LAYERS! Onions have layers. OGRES have layers. Onions have layers...you get it. We both have layers.
Donkey: Oh, you both have layers. [sniffs onion again and winces] You know, not everybody likes onions. [pause] CAKES! Everybody loves cakes! Cakes have layers!
Shrek: [restraining temper] I don't care...what everyone likes. Ogres. Are not. Like cakes!
Donkey: You know what else everybody likes? Parfaits. Have you ever met a person, you say, "Let's get some parfait," they say, "Hell no, I don't like no parfait"? Parfaits are delicious.
Shrek: NOOO!!! YOU DENSE, IRRITATING, MINIATURE BEAST OF BURDEN! Ogres are like onions! End of story! Bye bye! [whispers] See you later!
[Pause]
Donkey: Parfaits may probably be the most delicious thing on the whole damn planet!
Shrek: You know...I think I preferred you humming...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.