PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

What did we do . . .

. . . without YouTube. 

I had an idea for a little project and started this morning, hoping to get it done before the light went. It did not go well. In fact everything that could have gone wrong - did go wrong. Finally I had to admit that I had forgotten, or never knew, how to properly work my sewing machine. 

I have been using a sewing machine since childhood so of course, when I got a new one a year or so ago, it never crossed my mind that I might need to learn how to use it. Wrong! When I bought the machine I had a demonstration and I did have a bit of a practice when I got it home. But I haven't really had much need of it since and . . . well I had forgotten how to use it. 

I had a feeling that the uneven stitching and the constant snagging was as a result of incorrect threading. It's very hard to follow a manual, so eventually I found a video . . . fantastic. This lovely lady went through the whole setting up very carefully, demonstrating on her machine as she went. I learnt so much - even some of the basics. I even learnt how to use the needle-threader, something I was never able to do on my previous machine. She told me to practice - ten times. I did so and now . . . fantastic. 

So, I never did get my little project done, maybe another day. But I have learnt how to use my machine!! I wonder whether this experience applies to other machines . . . you think you know how to use it and then you realise that it might be an idea to have some humility and learn. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.