Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

We had an early start today to see our grandson in his school concert. I went up to the loch a lot earlier but it was way too dark to see or be seen. When we returned about lunchtime, so I went back up. The adult male was near the edge of the loch and waded over to meet me. I started feeding him and had given him a fair bit when the young male landed and was chased off. I followed the young male and found him so started feeding him. I then spotted a third heron circling me looking for somewhere to land. unfortunately there were a lot of dogs running around so it landed on the dovecote and looked around. It let out a call and flew over to the edge of the loch. I made my way over and was pleased to see it was the little female (pictured). I gave her a good feed then made for home. There were a few crows who got biscuits.
The extra is the adult male.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.