Over Yonder

By Stoffel

A Date Times Six

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellow,

Nearly ONE WHOLE YEAR AGO, Caro got a voucher from her work on the occasion of her 50th birthday. It was for a flash restaurant called 50/50 down in Paraparaumu Beach. 

And about ONE WHOLE MONTH AGO, she booked me to go with her on a special married couple date at 50/50 for a six course meal. 

SIX 

WHOLE

COURSES

I didn't eat anything all day. 

We both glammed ourselves up* and went to the restaurant where we were greeted by the very friendly staff. 

"And I hear someone is a NEW KIWI!??" said the owner. He was lovely. He took good care of us all evening and brought me a selection of curated Kiwi wines to go with each course.

You can find pictures of five of the six courses in the extras. I forgot to take a picture of the soup.

It was lovely being on a date with Caro. I asked her all about her planned trip to Shetland next year. In fact I over-asked. I do that. She didn't tell me to shut up and stop asking questions EXACTLY but it was very clearly implied.

All the same we had a very nice time together. And - six glasses of wine in - I was feeling pretty good about stuff and things. Caro drove us home and we immediately got into jarmies and started thinking about Xmas. 

Today is my last working day of the year. And I'm in a very good mood. It looks like I'm going to get an extension, the money worries are over, I have a lovely thoughtful wife, I have two weeks off with her and I've drunk six glasses of wine. 

Life is good.

S.

* Caro looked amazing. I wore a shirt. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.