Eye to Eye

By HilarysView

Common Snipes ….

… are critically endangered in Switzerland but since I first saw a group of 5 of them from the hide near Villeneuve in 2020, every year there have been more, and more ornithologists excitedly observing them too. This morning was a bit of an exception, the footpath to the hide was flooded and impassable but I knew there was a way through a quarry to get there. Once I started seeing them, I couldn’t believe my eyes, I counted about 25 but they kept moving. The little island they have colonised is just beginning to reappear again so I think they had all grouped together and taken shelter from the storms at the highest part of the island. 

Have great Christmas Weekend everyone! Lost a day somewhere, it’s Saturday already!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.