SarahClem

By SC26

Patti Smith

First up, I should say just how much I love Patti Smith. As the years have passed, I've fallen for her more and more. Her music, poetry, photography and words have become essential to me. She inspires me and her work comforts me.

I've seen her live before a couple of times, but not for many years, and since I last saw her my crush has deepened. So last night was kind of mind-blowing. I got there early and got a place on the barrier (for the first time in years!). It was amazing being so close. She's just incredible- she's so full of knowledge, anger, passion, politics, wisdom, rage and love.. it's really inspiring. She played for ages, and was so funny in between songs. And I also got to shake her hand, which was brilliant! It was one of the best gigs I've ever been to- it had a huge impact on me... I sort of can't stop thinking about it. At 66 years old, she is just as essential as ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.