ArcLight+

By ArcLight

A day of snow

We awoke to a winter wonderland. But it was just a day. Soon enough it was sleeting gently, and finally - overnight -almost all the snow disappeared as the temperatures rapidly rose. The flooding caused by the snow and snow melt around here is pretty bad. Everything is sodden so the land does not allow the water to drain away.

Anyway, it was nice to have a potter on 23rd December through a snowy and sometimes slushy Tain to pick up a few last minute bits from various shops and to have a coffee at Pipers. I noted that Scotsburn Garden Centre was open. Of course. It was, however, good to know I didn't have to get in the car.

I missed a swim, partly because I didn't want to drive, partly because we went across to our neighbour for a glass of Prosecco and a mince pie mid afternoon, and partly because it was my turn to cook and some prep was needed. I made a venison ragu with the mince we got yesterday, and then I popped a pastry overcoat on it, and made one of my favourites: Bambi pie.... 

I finally finished my book in the evening. Lucy Atkins, The Windmill. Although it was well crafted, I ended up thinking it was overly neatly resolved and that it messed with my emotions slightly. That's my 21st book of the year. I might manage one more before New Year's Eve given I have more time to read (and more will) right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.