SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Scolt Head

A slow start after getting back from Norwich in the early hours.
The tides are just right, and the weather was good, so I headed from Norton out to the island … glad I had remembered to bring my waders. A red kite hovered just feet over my head! … checking me out and piping me aboard.
I had the island to myself and crossed to the sea side for a bracing swim and then crossed back again to keep an eye on the channel whilst having a coffee and sandwich. 

I headed back along the sea wall watching the barn owl hunting in the distance, clouds of geese rising and falling over towards Wells, a marsh harrier and red kite soared, flocks of lapwing wheeled overhead and solitary curlew were rising and calling plaintively.

There was still some late light so I went to Overy as a huge moon began to rise over Tower Windmill and I looked across at two daft buggers people on the marsh which is notoriously difficult to navigate. They got to the creek and realised it was rising fast. After a few attempts they gave up trying to cross and it was getting dark when I saw a boatman going out to rescue them. 

As I headed back over Beacon Hill a hare loped along the road. It reminded me of when I was a youngster cycling along here and an owl (tawny, I think) followed the hedge line parallel to me and keeping the same pace  for what seemed like ages and swivelling it’s face to look at me every so often!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.