Meles

By meles

Onwards

I spent some time going through a huge folder of unsorted memorabilia - cards, notes, photos, set lists, orders of service from funerals, you know how it accumulates. Very draining- lots of stuff for the paper recycling, obvs, but I had to take frequent breaks due to, for example, coming across an inconsequential but sweet little note from my brother……

I was going to post a blip of the most up-beat Xmas card I think I’ve ever received, but thought it a bit too intrusive. But to quote: our dear friend Els (NL) writes: 

“Another year passed. Lots happened. I did survive cancer! Eye - melanoma. Super treatment in Leiden. So we can forget about that for now. 4000 km cycling, not so much, due to the eye. Swimming every week, building up, 500 mars in 20 mins! Olympic games next. Hope you are well……” 

Bloody hellfire - eye-melanoma was a new horrible thing that I’d never heard of, or even imagined. Go, Els!

So I’ve had to use the jigsaw for my blip again - only took the photo to compare it with yesterday’s, to reassure ourselves that we had made a certain amount of progress. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.