Winsford

By Winsford

An Dùbhlachd

Never has the Gaelic for December - An Dùchlachd - seemed more appropriate. It derives from dubh which means black.  This is in contrast to Ireland where the Irish for December is Nollaig which is the name for Christmas. It derives from derives from Latin natalicia which is akin to nativity. 

Today was miserable - any hopes of going out were quickly dashed due to relentless rain and strong winds.  Staying in seemed the best option.  The roads were certainly not the place to be with the A9 blocked north and south of Pitlochry and although now open, a number of people have been left stranded.  However the local Atholl Centre is providing at least one place to stay.  

I have passed my time with family long gone as I researched my roots in Fife and in particular ancestry back to a Margaret Benneditte or Bennett who married a James Wilson there in 1648. This is the earliest actual record I have found. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.