Pleach

By Pleach

Cheating

This is cheating as it's a photo from a book.
I have several reference books on birds but among my favourite is one called The Orkney Book of Birds written by Tim Dean with great illustrations of Orkney views by Tracy Hall and I can thoroughly recommend it.

While on Orkney and on the north coast over the last couple of weeks, we walked along cliffs and saw many kinds of seabirds nesting. I took several photos but my little compact camera is no good for close ups so, as I had done nothing worthwhile today, when I was looking through the book I thought this picture would convey some of the sorts of scenes. But it cannot convey the loud noisy calls and the constant movement of swooping seabirds as they dive into the sea or try to escape the marauding arctic skuas and great skuas (bonxies).
This drawing shows the kittiwake of which there can be as many as 60000 pairs in Orkney; the guillemont which can nest in an area of only two square inches and has a pear shaped egg which theoretically cannot roll off and the bird can also dive down to 200 metres; and the razorbill which tends to nest high up. The cliffs look like high rise flats with each variety of bird being at a different level with the puffins generally near the top where they could burrow in soft ground. The cliff tops and crevices were full of flowers including pink thrift, blue spring squill, yellow primroses and bird's foot trefoil and the fairly rare yellow roseroot and many other flowers. I hunted in vain for the very rare scottish primrose (primula scotica) but unfortunately found only one dead one but many of the plant leaves. It grows only on Orkney and in Caithness and Sutherland but I have found it previously. I found the cliff walks most spectacular.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.