TaTs - dawg & stuff

By tinksandtonks

01/01/2024_Happy New Year

2023 is now fully in the rear-view mirror so Kassie and I did a muddy memorial walk in one of our favourite parks.

It’s not a year I wished to document at the time since it started badly and got worse. These are the “highlights”: -

Late December 2022 I got worried about a friend, long story short – the police broke in and she had been on the floor 48 hours so that day I dealt with 5 police officers and 2 paramedics.  I took the next week off work to help her coordinate social services, care agencies and food shopping. She has now recovered enough to get out and about with sticks.

Christmas Eve 2022, I tested positive for Covid and I haven’t any idea who infected me – my friend mentioned above, didn’t get it.  The major symptoms went after 10 days but I still have periodic breathing issues which make long dog walks trickier and ongoing fatigue.

Mum had several mild strokes at the start of 2023 and dad’s lung cancer has spread further so we had to discuss “do not resuscitate” for both of their medical records going forward.

Four close friends died – 3 before Easter and one in October.  The funerals let me meet up with people not seen since before Covid but a couple of the are also very ill.

On top of all that, Graham has yet to be fully diagnosed heart issues and my sister has potential muscle issues from her 2011 mastectomy.

Anyway, Kassie told me today that a muddy walk cures all and so we both wish you all a great 2024.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.