soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

My mum and I bought these

In 1974 in Moscow at the Intourist shop near the Kremlin. It was January, very cold, but dry and sunny. In fact, fifty years ago almost to the day. Brezhnev was the president.  Tourists were made very welcome, provided you stayed within the arrangements that had been made for you; it was a wonderful holiday - we saw the Bolshoi Ballet, the Leningrad State Circus, we visited the Winter Palace in Leningrad which houses the Hermitage Museum  - the most wonderful art collection I’ve ever seen. 
While I’ve been decluttering my stuff I’ve also had to deal with the contents of my mums house. I thought about this, then decided to give these to Oxfam to sell. My mum didn’t use them - the things I really treasure are the couple of cups and mugs she used every day. I took a photo and showed it to the manager.  She used the Google Lens app to identify these immediately. They are called Gold Net  and are from the Lomonosov Imperial Porcelain Factory - and it seems Oxfam might get quite a lot of money for them. One website indicates the gold is 22 carat. Not sure about that:) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.