Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie recovered!

Well, Archie had a good night's sleep, and was awake and perky in the morning, he always listens to what JR is doing in the kitchen from his perch on the bed - opening the poo bag drawer, putting on her coat, and knows exactly when to jump off the bed to meet her in the hall for his early morning walk. He came back afterwards, ready for his breakfast. All good!

JR went to the gym, and I took Archie for a walk round the block. Then I've spent the rest of the day doing all the things on my list. Booking taxi for 3.30 am, emailing neighbours, changing Times subscription, checking in... Checking in???

WHOOPS! Major panic as I couldn't check in!! The link was always there on the app, I knew exactly where it was, and when I went to use it, it was NOT a link, and then... it disappeared!!! Panic stations. Last time we couldn't log in online was when we went to SA, and when we got to the airport, there was only ONE seat available!! I rang Hazel in a panic. She rang her son (who works in aviation). I rang the travel agents, who have yet to ring back as requested... 

I found an international help number, and while it wasn't the right one, he gave me the correct Qatar helpline number. They asked for my birthdate, and the woman then knew exactly who I was, and had my booking!! Impressive. She told me it was because I'd booked a wheelchair in Doha... Excuse me... WHY didn't they just tell me that when I booked the wheelchair??? It would have saved me a whole morning of stress and panic.

However, all organised now. Hazel came over in the afternoon to go over her tasks, eg posting the calendars (when they eventually come), checking for dead mice (joking), opening any NHS letter for me to check the date. Elizabeth came back with Archie - he's had a big walk this afternoon, as if nothing had happened. What a boy! A few glasses of wine were sipped while we had a bit of a yak.

Sooo... tomorrow should be very relaxed (although I still haven't got my EDF energy provider sorted, but I can do that from OZ). We're just taking Archie to Derek in the afternoon with all his luggage. Honestly, he's got more stuff than us, and we're going away across the world.
 
One and a half more sleeps...

Photo by Elizabeth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.