airedaleknitter

By airedaleknitter

Canadian memorial

As usual (with the exception of last year when I was away) I played last post at the memorial today. It was the 80th year since they were killed. Very well attended and it didn’t rain. This was taken as I got there before the wreaths were laid. Representatives of the Canadian Airforce, RAF , local MP, Mayor etc, but also someone whose grandmother was the sister of one of the deceased.

The memorial is quite near the Grouse a local pub renowned for its food, so we met the Miss H and family there for a belated birthday meal. It was lovely to see them all, and lovely to be out of the house as it is the first time I’ve been out since the 27th December.

I survived, managed to play OK but I am quite weary now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.