Grammy

By Grammy

Let There Be Light

I woke up in the middle of the night, probably from Millie crying for food. Anyway, tried checking e-mail, looking at a bathroom upgrade on Facebook and was still wide awake. Finally, I read Kindle until I was sleepy again. But then I slept in until 9:30. The microwave repairman arrived soon after that. He found two issues and ordered the repair parts. He’ll be back in about two weeks. Will be so glad when that irritating noise is gone and the display works correctly. It was still under warranty. It started raining off and on early in the morning. It’s been grey, dark and gloomy all day. Due to high winds, heavy rains, probable flooded roads, and potential for downed trees, all schools dismissed two hours early. The winds got bad after lunch and rain was heavier also. I think it should taper off in the middle of the night. But they are forecasting severe thunderstorms later this afternoon/evening. Hubby and I undressed our Christmas tree. I decided to highlight these beautiful ornaments for today’s blip since we are confined inside. I have small boxes for my most fragile ornaments and it takes hours to find the right ornament to fill them. We stopped for a late lunch and hubby needed a nap before we completed the job. We lost power for a short period of time. Most of our power lines are underground so a power failure usually indicates a problem at the source. At least everyone in my family is safely sheltered in their homes. Our temps are mild so they will be warm even if we lose power. We do worry about my sister who lives in that awfully low area of our county. We’ve offered her and her hubby (and Sugar of course) a nice warm bed if it gets too dangerous in her neighborhood. I hope your weather is calm today. Thanks for stopping by. Be safe. “It is the wind and the rain, O God, the cold and the storm that make this earth of yours to blossom and bear its fruit. So in our lives it is storm and stress and hurt and suffering that make real men and women bring the world's work to its highest perfection.” - W. E. B. Du Bois

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.