Collecting Moments

By AudreyJ

Mary Poppins

Must have felt like this!

Today even although I have so much I could be getting on with at home, I decided to go to the 'Keep Calm and Carry Yarn' event which celebrates everything woolly at our National Centre for Craft and Design.

There was demonstrations from members of the local Guild of Weavers, Spinners and Dyers showing off their skills and we got to see the knitted Boston Stump.

The Stump is the fourth masterpiece of knitted architecture from the Woolly Spires project, there was also knitted replicas of four local churches, which is the result of more than two years of knitting.

Met contemporary knit artist Sally Spinks and saw her yarn graffiti (yarn bombing) which was cool too.

This was the view from the top floor of the NCCD looking out to St Denys Church, looking out over the rooftops and chimneys made me think of Mary Poppins.

Never been much of a knitter, although I can. I think I'm really quite keen to learn how to crotchet now, I especially like that crotchet 'grows' much faster than knitting.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.