IainatCreel

By IainatCreel

It's a Sign

On Tuesday 8th January 1963 a coterie of folk assembled at 445 Sylvan Avenue, New Jersey, at the Englewood Cliffs recording studio of Rudy Van Gelder.  The earlier grit bearing snow had gradually started to melt; the air was slack.  Daytime temperature was three degrees centigrade.  Stanley Turrentine, tenor sax, hung his ex-navy duffel coat on a peg in the anteroom.  Major Holley Junior, bass, Billy English, , and Ray Barretto, conga, had all shared a taxi with guitarist Kenny Burrell.  As recording commenced they never realised that the nine tracks recorded during the session would accompany me today as a I travelled through to Holm to pick up a last batch of stabs.  They will dry out until the summer when I will saw them up for winter wood.
 
I forgot to take a photo today*, you lucky people.
 
*Iain@Creel’s first A.I. generated pic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.