BoydMcAdam

By BoydMcAdam

A mound of money

I popped into town this afternoon to pick up a few things. Due to bus route changes I can no longer get a bus from home directly down the Mound and have to change.

The gap for a connecting bus was 10+ minutes so I set off walking. That is better for me and gave me the chance to take a few evening shots: Victoria Street; Princes St Gardens and the Scott Monument. Looking west I would have,10 minutes earlier, got a wonderful band of sunset under the cloud. It was not to be.

This is looking onto the dome of the Bank of Scotland. The bank was founded in1695: the building, its HQ, was built originally in 1801-6 and developed further in the mid-19th century.

In its museum it apparently has a million pounds on display: something I have still to visit to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.