Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Asian delights?

Well Cumbrian actually!  About 35 years ago (I think) after a couple of visits to Istanbul I started to take an interest in Islamic wooden carvings, particularly tables and I collected a few from antique shops around the north of England.  Some were damaged and I got for a couple of pounds like the black one.  If my memory serves me well the wooden table top came from a shop in Penrith.  The base had long gone and the top was damaged but I loved the carvings.  I was told it was of India origin. The golden metal top came from an antique shop in Cockermouth, this was one where the base had gone missing and is possibly middle eastern..  They are lying in my junk garage and today I grabbed this pic whilst I was searching for an old bus stop sign.  (Alas gone missing).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.