TheHairyPict

By TheHairyPict

Pink clouds at dawn

Northerly winds have brought some of the coldest weather for quite a few years (-14C in Dalwhinnie last night), and a dump of snow, about 3 or 4 inches in Kirkhill.  Hoped to go skiing at Abriachan with H+S, but the snowplows had not cleared the road up the hill from the A833 by 10am and I thought it was too risky. Took the alternative of a short trip around Boblainy Forest above Kiltarlity with B+M. Used the skins to go a couple of miles uphill on a forest track, but 5 inches of fresh powder was not enough to ski back down on, I was skiing on stones, so I ended up carrying my skis (B+M have lighter, thinner skis and they managed to ski down, but I'm precious about my new skis!).  Still, the views were nice, one of the extras is Beinn a' Bha'ach Ard from Boblainy Forest (see the entry for 8th January).  Today's blip is sunrise in the field at the back of Kirkhill and the other extra is near sunset, across the Beauly Firth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.