neilnewson

By neilnewson

Inflatable

After a torrid day of stormy weather, wind and occasional lashings of rain, I headed to the Lido* after work hoping to catch some of the storms while I swam. Having been very busy enjoying myself elsewhere just recently I've struggled a little with distance with the crawl. Yesterday for example was still feeling very drained and achy after last weeks London to Brighton cycle ride but was so desperate for a swim that I let myself swim as few or many lengths as I needed, rather than my usual target-based swimming. As it turned out a small 1k swim was exactly what the doctor ordered despite the grey skies.

Today though, expecting a downpour the moment I touched the water, the clouds magically cleared and was left with beautiful sunshine and gratefully soaked up the vitamin e producing rays while slowly working my way to 2k. I have to remind myself quite often that at 2 Months ago when the Lido re-opened I couldn't swim 2 lengths of crawl as when I look at the timings for my swims I am disheartened that I am actually slower crawling than I was last year at breaststroke.

With a few weeks to go before the Hampton court 3.6k swim I would to do that distance at least once in the pool and even possibly once at the lake.

When I arrived there were preparations for a Summer Solstice 'do' in the evening and the entrance was covered in bunting and balloons. Inside, on the green behind the pool was a huge inflatable marquee. Never seen one before so sneaked inside (empty) and took this shot with the diffused sun streaming through the white roof.

*Guildford Lido

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.