That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Bargain Book?

When BikerBabe referred to a 'roving bridge' I just had to dive into my little bridge book for an explanation.

Blip followers will know that I have a soft spot for bridges, (particularly those built for pack horses but any cute bridge will do) so expected the book to provide a neat definition and example that I might visit.

Sadly, my copy is unable to fulfil this obligation, not merely because a roving bridge is not listed in the index but that several items that are mentioned in the index do not appear in the book - because those pages are blank. Not a scrap of ink on pages 82/3, 86/7, 90/91 and 94/5. I am missing 'Movable', 'Motorway', 'Great New Projects' and letters B-D in the 'County List'.

Having bought it on Ebay I contacted the seller and probably received a refund, but the real irony is that, inside the front cover, is a small sticker from Baurmeister Booksellers, a shop in Edinburgh - where I live. It closed years ago so there was no point in complaining.

So, sorry, BikerBabe, I await your follow-up list or photo of examples.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.