DDW

By DDW

Epitaph?

This rather unsettling, Edward Gorey-esque pen and ink drawing dates back to 1978, when I left my job in New York City to marry and move to Connecticut.

Just after graduating from college, I was hired as an Editorial Assistant for Boating magazine. I absolutely loved working there, and learned a great deal about the world of publishing during that time. On my last day, the entire office surprised me with a farewell party, and this is a card drawn by the head of the art department, and signed by every member of the staff.

I love the somewhat sinister overtones to the drawing and the words -- not exactly what you'd expect to find on a card bidding adieu to a young woman about to become a bride! There I am, in the upper left hand corner, arms outstretched, flying like a moth towards the moon. And there, clustered in a boat are all the members of the editorial department, looking somewhat dejected as I leave them behind.

PS: Speaking of being absorbed by the moon, last night a Super Moon was scheduled to rise in the east, and I was stoked to photograph it. I checked the computer for the exact time of moonrise for our area, loaded the camera and tripod into the car, and drove to the best moon-rising location I could think of. Then I waited. And waited. And waited. And nothing happened. I think we had too many low hanging clouds on the horizon. By the time I could see the moon, it had ascended high enough into the heavens to have lost much of its superness!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.