Aliscotia

By Aliscotia

A new hobby

I decided to take up water colour painting this year. I bought a book, a beginner's set of paints and a few brushes and have painted or watched videos about painting every day for the past two weeks. I cannot tell you how much I am enjoying it. I find it completely absorbing and the time flies by while I am doing it. I must thank Damnonii, a fellow blipper, who kindly spent ages on a call with me advising on the best paper and kit, painters to watch on you tube and also showed me round her studio virtually.
D's beautiful landscapes from her holidays have partly been my inspiration to give this a go. 
One of the painters I was watching mentioned water colour pencils and I could instantly see how useful they could be and I ordered a set of 24 which arrived today. Straight away Rob and I turned into big kids and sat colouring with them before taking a wet paint brush and then gasping when we saw the colour deepen. We also tried dipping them in water...amazing!! Who knew such wonderful creative tools existed?!!  I had to take a pic before I messed them up for ever and so that is my blip for today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.