ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Can You See The Heart?

We were at the crematorium hall this Saturday afternoon to say goodbye to Mario.  It was a sunny day, with sunlight on the snow patches.  Services began at 14.00 and lasted almost an hour.  Mario's daughter Eva shared about life with her father, and then Sweed, the same Sweed AW plays bridge with, was also one of Mario's closest friends (their friendship goes back 50 years), so he shared his memories as well.  There was so much to tell but not enough time.  Beside me, AW's eyes were red and moist the whole time, and we held hands throughout.  AW is always quiet at moments like this, but I know Mario and he go back a long way as well.  In one sweep, a third of your life gone.  I had quite a difficult time as well, because Mario was the first of AW's friends to greet me when I arrived in Breda.  After the services, we partook of coffee/tea and pastries in the coffee room, and it took about 15 minutes or a bit more before his widow and children joined us.  Of course, Benna was there, too, and so were the Headman and his daughter.

I forgot the battery of the camera, so couldn't take a shot outside the crematorium, so when we got back, after I put the battery in, I walked to the bridge near our place, which is when these ducks swam in my direction.  There is still ice in the ponds but the canal was no longer frozen.  A quiet day full of memories.  Thankful for long friendships, and very thankful AW is still in the land of the living.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.