Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

After the rain

There have been heavy showers on and off for most of today, with thunder and lightning during the afternoon. Many of the flowers have taken a real battering and their petals look rather sad now.

Not so this proud iris. It's a very special favourite in our house because in 1975 it flowered on the day my results came through to say I had qualified.

When she moved to Northumberland, we dug up a few irises from my Mum's garden and overwintered them in pots until we found this house.

They have not done wonderfully here. Some survived a great drama when Julie ran over them in her car. We never remind her of this of course!

I used flash for this. I'm not keen on flash for flowers, but on this occasion I like the detail you can see in all areas of the flower, including that papery substance that covered the bud before it burst open.

PS For all those who entered yesterday's quiz. No one managed to identify the mystery image but acronymphomania and marpaul both suggested a fungus, so well done to them.

It is in fact the nettle fungus or puccinia urticaria. I have seen it before and assumed it was a gall. The tiny cups are the reproductive organs for spore dispersal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.