Bunty

By Bunty

Not Pleased

Despite getting lots of treats, (sheep nuts, apples, tagasaste leaves) Poppy isn't happy about being shut in the yards with her lamb overnight after I treated her for flystrike.  I saw her behaving oddly (looking over her shoulder, running around, shaking her head) in the paddock this afternoon and knew straightaway what was wrong.  It's a bad summer for flystrike and the sheep need checking several times a day. Treatment consists of shaving wool off the affected area and applying a liquid and an antiseptic spray to kill the maggots and prevent infection. Poppy will be fine and I will let her and her lamb out in the morning.  I hate flies.
Extra:  My neigbour's daughter did a great job clearing up the mess after  part of a tree fell on one of the chook coops. (See yesterday's photo).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.