LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Lunch at Joppa Rocks

Its very unusual for me to be in Porty wearing a full set of clothes, but there I was this morning, an hour before high tide, making my way along the prom towards the Joppa Rocks restaurant for lunch with the Merry Widows. It was sunny and mild although the stiff westerly breeze made it feel colder. It was a blessing that I didn’t notice anyone in the sea or I might have felt I had missed out on a choppy dip.

The Joppa Ricks café used to be the toilet block for excursions to the beach, but hey ho there is now in its place an upmarket sea food restaurant. It of course comes  with toilets but not for the hoi polloi. I’m not sure where they go and I don’t like to speculate.

What else could we have chosen from the menu but a big plate each of fish and chips, upstairs with a view over the Forth to Fife and East Lothian. There were other tasty fishy alternatives on offer but we went mainstream and there is no exaggeration in saying we won’t be eating again today.

We were lucky with the weather, the sun shone, the rain stayed away and the wind made the sea interesting. Porty was looking its best today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.