Gaia's Child

By maura143

Keeping My Eye on You

Spent the morning at Kanapaha Botanical Gardens here in Gainesville. Took some nice flower shots but then happened to see this gator almost submerged in a small pond. We are fairly accustomed to seeing them in local lakes and waterways but I was a bit surprised to spot her in the Gardens, and on a Sunday morning with folks milling around!
She looked to be about a four footer, maybe a little longer.

Not too very alarmed, I mean it wasn't walking down the path, I made a mental note to let them know about it at the front desk on my way out. Seems they were aware of the gator as several guests had spotted her that morning and I can only assume, had the situation under control. The staff is used to seeing them around and it is understood that we are all sharing this incredible space. I know they don't take these visits lightly because the Garden's director and founder lost his right arm to a giant alligator a decade or so ago!

You can read about that horrific experience and lots of other very interesting, if less gruesome stories in his book, "Summer of the Dragon", (don't know how to underline on my iPad) by Don Goodman.

Go Gators!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.