Sprout lover

By robharris35

Hit and miss

Inconsistency is the theme of the week, especially with where I’m staying, which is the guesthouse I usually choose when in Masasi.

Sometimes I’ll be kept awake by a cacophonous nightclub nearby. Other nights it will be deadly silent.

Sometimes no amount of switch flicking will get the fan or air conditioner working. Other times a random arrangement of switches will work.

Sometimes the hot water heater results in gushing warm spouts. Other times only a cold trickle appears.

Sometimes the old mzee cook appears in the morning and I get a lump of sweet potato which I can save and snack on in the office (not wanting half a kilo of boiled starch as soon as I wake up). Other times he is nowhere to be found and I have to source something else.

Sometimes the power is out for most of the day and night. Other days it just flickers off sporadically.

Sometimes organisational politics will make me want to have a public meltdown. Other times I let it wash over me.

There is no telling what each day will bring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.