SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Brat Bríde

Well, that’s got me well spooked …

I haven’t had the chance to make a cross like last year https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3066872920711102996 but I thought I’d put out an offering of a piece of Brat Bríde for St.Brigid out on her travels on this liminal night … https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3199413044757138186

I’m not one that wears much in the way of red so I was struggling to think of something to leave out. As I was ratching about for something I remembered a red hankie of P’s. I couldn’t find it (I think it might have gone with him in the top pocket of his suit) but I did find an odd bright red sock of his alongside an empty glass jar (all that remained of some delicious tapenade from our French Odyssey). I remember putting small amounts of ashes in the jar and protecting it in the sock and taking them off for random scatterings.

Perfect.

I stood outside for a while looking at a rather beautifully starry night sky and listening to the wind rushing across the Pennine tops.
At the very moment I laid the sock down by the door threshold the whole village was plunged into darkness. Every single light went out and various alarms began to sound momentarily before all power was soon restored once again. I was a tad freaked.

I came in again and got ready for bed but then felt that I wanted to put a stone on the sock. Perhaps one shouldn’t do that but it felt careless to leave it there unattended somehow so I found a heart shaped stone and went back out in my nightclothes and placed it carefully on the sock together with another stone that has a ballaun-like dimple in it. I hope that will be okay. It’s been a strangely liminal time anyway, one way or another.
All in all, magical thinking on steroids.

Afterthought… oh, I don’t know where I got the idea of red from I’ve just been reading it’s usually white … oh well … hopefully it won’t matter too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.