meanderbestofem

By Meandertall

Asahi Pentax SV

Back in the last millennium I shot Pentax cameras, having owned an Olympus XA2 , later a Pentax ME Super and An MX, fully mechanical with just a battery to run the light meter. These cameras, with their big bright viewfinders, are all long gone.
And nowadays, given I do part time in a camera shop which sells and processes film, it's kind of in yer face. Last week a young lass came into the shop with an Olympus OM10, three lenses and flash, all in show room condition. She had no idea how it worked and was asking advice. A  battery, a couple of films and half an hour going through the function of it and she was out the door bubbling with excitement.
And then there's some of you folk who use or talk about film. Can you see where this is heading?
Tucked away in the top of my cupboard for the last couple of decades has been this camera bag. It was my Dad's and I believe he bought the gear in the early '60s. This model was made from 1962 to 72. Dad shot slide film and I have, (now digitized) images from about 1962 , 63.
Everything is working well, except I think the light meter looks to be under reading a couple of stops. There's a 55mm f1.8, dusty inside but no fungus as with the Soligor 35mm f3.5. The Tamron 95-205mm f6.3 zoom, have you ever seen a lens like that one!, has a tiny bit of fungus. I may investigate how to dismantle and clean these things some time.
So, I shall get a roll of Ilford XP2 and lets see where this goes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.