ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Memories

Facebook is fond of reminding me that 10-12 years ago, Stuart and I used to play gigs together around the local pubs. We always used to put a couple of our self penned numbers into the set and they generally went down pretty well.
As there is a good chance we’ll be doing something similar this year, we’ve been revisiting some of those old tunes to choose what we’d like to perform. Perhaps, more pertinently, what we can perform. Not in the sense of “have we got the skill” but more “how could we actually play this in a live setting”
I found this album stored in my iTunes library, which contains several of the tracks we’d like to perform live. But, as Stuart pointed out, some of them were recorded with no thought of playing live and we’d have to work out how we could replicate the multiple guitar and vocal tracks on those songs.
However, that’s a problem for another day. The pressing issue at the moment is finding the original master recordings so we can create some backing tracks. Well, not so much find them, but get them transferred from a ten year laptop to a modern Mac. The good news is that the laptop has fired up. All Stuart has to do now is work out how to extract the Cubase files and import them into Logic without losing it all.
Me, I’m just enjoying hearing those old songs again. One in particular instantly brought back memories of when I used to travel all over the U.K. for a living. I think I wrote it after a particularly fraught day when training didn’t go very well, the weather was awful, there were delays on the motorway and I ended up checking into a flea pit hotel late at night without having had any tea! It’s not what you’d call a cheery upbeat number!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.