cyclops

By cyclops

Mission Control - Evolution

I just stumbled across this picture of my desk from 2015 when I first set up my home office.

I've made a lot of changes since then, and it's got a lot busier.

Firstly, I now have a job (rather than being self employed) so I need to accommodate both work and personal laptops.  Each has its own docking station.  I have a monitor switch so with a single button press I can have the two big monitors connected to either laptop.  The keyboard and mouse are connected to a separate switch, so I can drive either laptop with them regardless of which is connected to the big monitors.

Video conferencing wasn't really a thing in 2015, but I now have a good webcam on top of my monitors.  That switches to either laptop along with the monitors.  There is also a light above the webcam so my face isn't in deep shadow when it's bright outside.  I've also added a nice set of speakers with a sub for listening to music - connectable through the monitor or via bluetooth for more flexibility.  There's also an old-fashioned headset with a microphone on a hook beside the desk for video calls - still the best way to get great audio and more reliable than bluetooth with PCs.

To accommodate all this the monitors have moved from the stands they came with onto a dual monitor stand that holds them well above the desk.  This is better for my tall person eye level, as well as making more space for laptops at desk level.

The wireless charger for my phone is new - no wireless charging in 2015!

My rekindled interest in amateur radio has taken over the right side of the desk, with an HF radio, antenna matcher, and SWR meter for long range communications dominating.  There's a VHF/UHF radio for local chat mostly on FM or DMR (Digital) and another portable radio which covers HF, VHF and UHF but which when on my desk is usually connected to a VHF/UHF antenna for FM/SSB and weak signal mode operation.  There's also a WSPR beacon transmitter and a UHF hotspot with an internet connection for DMR and D-Star (another digital mode), and a VHF/UHF handheld (FM/DMR).  Big 12V power supplies for the radios are out of the way beneath the desk, as is a dedicated radio headset, designed to have the right frequency response for weak radio signals and for comfort during long sessions!

There's not a lot of room left on my desk for papers, but I do so little that involves paper these days it doesn't really matter...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.