SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Kirkbride Church

Made soup and then braved Carlisle briefly. 
With all the attention on St.Brigid at the moment I have had niggling thoughts about St.Bride’s Well at Kirkbride. I felt sure I’ve been but couldn’t find any reference to it in my blips. I thought I’d have a detour to check today. When I got there it all came back to me. I have definitely searched here before but not found the well which I presume is now lost. The church is rather sweet and set on a hill previously occupied by a Roman fort. The well is marked on the OS map but I scouted around in the wet, windy, dismal weather and saw no sign of anything and so I retreated back home to bake a lemon drizzle cake to compensate.
I’ve tagged it so that I don’t go through it all again after another trip round the goldfish bowl. It could become the holy well version of Groundhog Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.