ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Fire Hazard

It was still working, but the very hard material encasing the lamp (covered by glass) and the steel frame had become very, very brittle, and whenever I tilted this 'head' in any direction, parts of that material would rain onto my desk.  The lamp is almost 20 years old, and had two switch 'positions' for light -- a soft light, which is what I used to use, and a much brighter light, which I ended up using when the soft light switch position conked out.  After all this time using the hard light,  which is what made the material brittle due to the heat, I decided that I could not take any risk.  There's a second desk lamp and that's doing just fine, so that will be it for now.  Maybe in autumn, I'll get myself a new one, perhaps a LED.  This can go to Son, who will sell it as scrap metal.

Email from the Viking replying to my queries last week.  Yet another lawyer is down with COVID and in hospital.  He's wondering if this is another dilatory tactic.  That said, an appointment has been set for the signing of the agreement next week.  I'll believe it when it happens.

A quiet day at home due to the weather.  After dinner, AW left for Tuesday evening live bridge, which pushed through despite Carnaval week.  The club decided that the evening did not have to be wasted.  Thankful for the quiet hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.