barbarathomson

By barbarathomson

Heathrow Picnic Breakfast

I was brought up on 'Rupert the Bear' and his friends at Nutwood. In one of the Christmas Annuals there was an adventure with Tiger Lily and the Mandarin. It ends with the words, 'I've been to China. What's for tea?' which have stuck in my memory as linking the romance of travel with the prosaic perfectly.
So, here I am at the beginning of my adventure. 'I'm going to China. What's for breakfast?'
Thanks to my sister who took me the 30 miles to Carlisle, I caught the National Coach at mid-night, to Heathrow bus station at T2.  And then took the free Heathrow Express train to T5. 
The plan has been a long while in the making but hopefully consists of this itinerary:
Cold Beijing, colder Shen Yang, extremely cold Harbin, cool Huangshan Mountain, warmer Shanghai. and not sure what Zhangjiajie National Park. 

 In January, a airport picnic indoors, complete with open space, picnic bench and table under the cheerful lights of a Christmas tree seems a good start to a journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.