Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Healthy lunch…

A nice sunny day was much appreciated after yesterday's constant drizzle. I decided to take Archie to the Post Office to post a letter containing a few of the photographs I salvaged from yesterday's cull.  I did not go to the nearby cafe with barking dog, shouting woman on the phone and burnt milk coffee...

JR went into town to meet up with some ex-colleagues for lunch (Howies in Waterloo Place, always a good choice).

We walked back through Bruntsfield and happened to pass Montpelier's - I knew we were passing it because Archie started to sprint and drag me past. But he did not succeed, as I wanted to check if, after their recent refurbishment (the red leather banquettes are new, and very nice) they were still dog friendly in the front area. Yes!

And so I had a very healthy lunch - chips and beer. The chips were must have been the end of the packet string fries - they was not a single one longer than an inch, but at least they were hot.

Walked through the Links, and had a look in a few more of the dozens of plastic protector tubes around... well, what exactly? Mostly a tiny wee miserable looking twiglet,  about an inch high, some taller. i await with interest...

When I came home I dozed through Rory Stewart talking about 'Middleland' ie southern Scotland and northern England). It was a very old programme, as he looked very young, and he was talking about the forthcoming Scottish Independence Referendum of 2014.

Then I watched a very interesting series called the Ascent of Women, a four parter looking at women's lives and achievements through the ages, throughout the world. What an undertaking!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.