Over Yonder

By Stoffel

Blood On The Traitors

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellow, 

Jefe has asked me to take on the role of Storyteller in Blood on the Clocktower which is a game of social deduction that I bought him for his birthday. In the game you have to try and deduce who is the evil Imp amongst the group. The Storyteller does not take part but guides the proceedings in a most DRAMATIC FASHION.

ME: A demon lurks amongst us!! Beware!!! BEWAAAAAAAARE!!!

I mean... unaccustomed as I am to public speaking...

So I've been doing a lot of research and gone down a lot of nerd-holes this last week. The board game community is dedicated and passionate and often really annoying. 

As a result, I've sat through a lot of YouTube videos of vaguely embarrassed people making the same lame jokes over and over. 

STORYTELLER: The game begins!
ANNOYING GAMES PERSON: Okay, so who's the Imp?
EVERYONE: Oh ha ha ha ha ha. Because no-one EVER says that at the start of every SINGLE EFFING GAME ha ha ha.

But you know. I have taken a hit for the team and done my research diligently. This is because I want Jefe to enjoy his present. Also I get to wear a cape*. 

And maybe a hat with a feather. 

I'm still thinking about it. 

It's a bit like that tv show "The Traitors" to which Caro is currently addicted. She has watched every single episode from every single country that did it. Her favourite is the US version because Alan Cummings is incredibly Alan Cummings as the presenter, wearing outrageous outfits and lingering over the word MURDER and TRAITOR with indecent relish.

Surprisingly, we also liked the Canadian version. Typically Canadians are far too nice to be interesting, but their French-Canadian presenter also rocked some outlandish garb. She even turned up to a super-secret meeting of the traitors wearing a little beret, "Allo!" 

I laughed out loud. 

So seriously. A feathery hat. And a cape. Maybe I should grow a pointy beard...

S.

* See extras for actual clip from actual YouTube video of actual Storyteller. His mum put a lot of work into that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.