Blips and blops

By Mags

The end of an era

If you pass by regularly you will know it’s been a matter of time until my mum passed away. We spent the afternoon at her beside. We said our goodbyes again and left. She passed away peacefully a wee while later with Michelle and Maureen - both cared for her for 6 plus years and are family and friends now - by her side.
She was just shy of her 91st birthday. She lived in Helensburgh all her life. She was involved in so many things, including campaigning for a bus to the local hospital. She met the health minister twice to lobby for it. She encouraged me to study for exams and she took me to dancing classes- both things that have made me who I am today. She loved to clean and was very organised. She taught elocution many moons ago and she could sew and knit. This picture hung in her kitchen and now hangs in mine.
You will be missed mum and from the messages I’ve had from people tonight, it’s not just us who will miss you. Thank you for everything.

“And though I walk the darkest path
I will not fear the evil one
For You are with me, and Your rod and staff
Are the comfort I need to know
And I will trust in You alone
And I will trust in You alone
For Your endless mercy follows me
Your goodness will lead me home.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.