A setting for a meeting

More gardening today, or rather more cleansing of the invasive weeds, brambles and old man's beard. I shaved too, as I had a meeting to attend this evening. I bought some pumpkin plants, amongst a few other oddments that I thought I would plant in place of the weeds, which now I am rather excited about. A transformation of the space into food production takes me back to my permaculture training all those years ago.

I had a snooze late this afternoon, as this evening I had to attend the AGM of Stroud Preservation Trust, which was being held in the room where our 30th anniversary exhibition is currently on show at Stroud's Museum in the Park. After the formalities of the AGM, Camilla, the chair of the Trust, was going to show the new website to the various attendees as well as explaining about the latest project which she is organising - a history of the community action in Stroud, which will appear as a book in November. There is a lot to be said on that subject.

Before going in to the meeting, I was as usual taking pictures. I have been recording the activities of the trust over the last few years as part of my interest in using images to document our lives. Tonight I took some pictures of the exterior of the museum, which was by then closed to the public, before venturing inside and greeting the other trustees and guests. Last Saturday I blipped a picture from the room where the exhibition was being held, in the purpose built new gallery attached to the Cotswold stone built house, which was formerly a 17th century wool merchant's mansion, now in Stratford Park, Stroud.

I liked the light this evening shining through the glass wall onto the ramp leading to the gallery and on the curved enamel advertising plaques which are I think permanent exhibits. I returned along here in the interval to refresh my wine glass and halfway up this ramp I stopped to talk to Sridhar who is married to Camilla. We have met several times but I haven't got to know him. But recently they stayed with their good friend Greentrees, who is also a fellow Blipper, in the United States, when Sridhar was playing some concerts there. He is a masterful exponent of the sarod, and tours the world when he isn't living up the road in Stroud. I was delighted when he asked if I might like to take some pictures of him one day playing his instrument. I can't think of anything much that I would like to do more! So I thought that my earlier picture of the same spot was a suitable blip for today. Apparently Greentrees will be visiting Stroud later this summer, and I really look forward to meeting him as he takes some wonderful pictures.

I find this framing a bit unsettling now, but it was all I had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.