Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

My Old Tool Belt

When the stitching on my old tool belt started to unravel a couple of years ago, I replaced it with a new one that was very similar. There was one difference that I found annoying. Instead of a central pocket for my tape measure, there was a metal strip for it to clip to -- OK in theory, but the tape measure would fall off at inopportune moments.

I don't know why I didn't think of it sooner, but I took the old belt to our cobbler, Jorge from El Salvador, and he repaired it for just a few dollars. When I picked it up today, it was like being reunited with an old friend -- it's over 40 years old.

Jorge has repaired a lot of our shoes and miscellaneous leather items. You can read more about him here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.