zebra

By zebra

Teacher's strike

The title is a misnomer but let that not distract you. The government teachers are on strike as the government has reneged on an agreement they signed back in 2007. It is obviously much more complicated than this but it is hard not to get emotional: politicians increased their salaries just the other day and the government is toying with increasing taxes. In the meantime, you see kids in school who are in tears because they are unsure how best they will prepare for their upcoming exams which basically determine their future. Ohhh...

I was so excited by this shot until I got to the office. I thought it would be a bit clearer...and then I was not sure how to crop it. I had actually considered leaving the guys on the left out of the shot. But they have some interesting conversation going on and that made me keep them in.

The area in which this shot was taken is just behind the big office buildings of Westlands. I was stuck in traffic. The containers are filled with water which is bought by the kiosks inside who cook breakfast and lunch and basically keep the majority of people in this business district from starving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.