Lala's Journal

By Lala

Water and trees!

Only partially flooded this time, but the daffodils have taken a beating! I read on the local Facebook page that a tree was down on the only road out of town without a 30 minute detour around the coast, but that police were in attendance, so I set off at the usual time. I was the third car from the tree when the police decided it was time to clear it, rather than just direct traffic. 30 minutes later…….

I had been ‘invited’ by the CEO to attend a Teams workshop on resilience this morning. I actually googled ‘what is resilience in the workplace’ to find it means the ability to respond under pressure, deal with adversity and overcome challenges. Really? I need to be told how to do that? I probably definitely was anti this workshop from the get go! First, my (old, soon to be replaced) PC ‘lost the call’ after ten minutes. I got back in to find I was in a breakout room where I couldn’t hear Hannah, and she couldn’t see me! So, she legged it down the stairs and we did the exercise face to face. When we got back the psychologist leader asked me what kept me awake at night - so, I told him, the flipping phone call at 4am informing me of a flood alert! Everyone else laughed, but I don’t think it’s what he meant! Later, another breakout room where we were supposed to ‘share’ the adversities that we had come through that got us where we are today. These are work colleagues! The first one described horrible experiences in  another work place, the next one her marriage break up and subsequent feelings of self loathing etc etc. The third one (a senior manager) again, work experiences of sexism in the office and then she said H, do you want to share? I still don’t know if she just couldn’t take any more or whether she was scared of what I might say, or even how she might have to respond, but, to my eternal delight the pc chucked me out again! I dropped a quick message in the chat and did not rejoin! 
And it’s only Monday!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.