Photographic antedecents

My Great Grandfather on my late Dad's side was a professional photographer, and I have recently acquired photos from the family album, including studio portraits of his 10 surviving children - a tiny sample from around 1920 is displayed here.

Albert Robert is the spendid gentleman in uniform at the top left, taken around 1916. In the family tree below, he is the father of Ernest, my little granddad, highlighted in green, and pictured in the group of photos in the bottom right - all 4 foot 10 ins of him (hence our name for him!)

The girls in the centre were "Nin and Nan", who worked as Albert's assistents. One of their duties was to hand tint photographs - there is one example of their work included.

When you consider the electronic marvels we use today, including the camera I used to take this, and the iPad with the family tree, I am always amazed at the clarity and quality of early photographs. It is no wonder that some people still forgo the convenience of digital and prefer to work in film!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.