CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A buzzard takes off

I saw a distant buzzard over treetops and a farmhouse, but its flight was obscured by the bare branches, and then by it flying away from me. I spent time watching trees and the wider landscape until I saw a kestrel flying high over a copse.

Within a few minutes a buzzard appeared floating over that same copse, before gliding down to a landing on a high branch. It was only then that I noticed it had joined another buzzard perched high on the same branch.

I watched for many minutes, and then the first bird flew away. I carried with my focus on the perched bird, which suddenly shook its feathers and then its body. Anticipating movement, I prepared for imminent motion and was delighted when it took off. Its perch was the nearly horizontal branch just feet below this point where it started its flight away.

It looked enormous at the time but seeing its picture now I am surprised by how big both birds were.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.